STScI Logo

James Webb Space Telescope
NASA selects instrument and science teams for NGST

NASA has selected a team led by the University of Arizona, Tucson, to provide the primary near-infrared science camera (NIRCAM) for the Next Generation Space Telescope (NGST), NASA's successor to the Hubble Space Telescope. The winning primary camera team includes members from the University of Arizona; Lockheed-Martin Advanced Technology Center, Palo Alto, Calif.; EMS Technologies, Ottawa, Canada; and COMDEV, Ltd., Cambridge, Canada, and will be led by Dr. Marcia Rieke of the University of Arizona.

In addition to selecting the main imaging camera, NASA has chosen the U.S. portion of an international team that will construct a mid-infrared instrument (MIRI). The members of this team are Dr. Thomas Greene, NASA's Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, Calif.; Dr. Margaret Meixner, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; and Dr. George Rieke, University of Arizona. These scientists, lead by Dr. George Rieke, will work in collaboration with scientists and engineers led by Dr. Gene Serabyn from NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, Calif., and the European Space Agency to enable NGST to see farther into the infrared portion of the spectrum. This capability will permit NGST to study stars forming inside dense clouds of interstellar dust that block Hubble's vision.

NASA has also selected several scientists to serve, with the principal instrument scientists, on the NGST science working group. This group will provide scientific guidance during the development of the telescope. The selected scientists are Dr. Heidi Hammel, Space Science Institute, Ridgefield, Conn.; Dr. Simon Lilly, ETH- Hoenggerberg, Zurich, Switzerland; Dr. Jonathan Lunine, Lunar and Planetary Laboratory, Tucson, Ariz.; Dr. Mark McCaughrean, Potsdam, Germany; Dr. Massimo Stiavelli, Space Telescope Science Institute, Baltimore; and Dr. Rogier Windhorst, Arizona State University, Tempe.