Mapping Nearby Galaxies with Integral Field Spectroscopy

Wed 11 Nov 2020

This colloquium is hosted by STScI and will be held as a fully virtual event.


3:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Contact Information:

Have questions? Please contact STScI.


Integral Field Spectroscopy (IFS) is becoming an increasingly common tool for studying galaxy evolution that combines the benefits of both imaging and traditional spectroscopy.  The recently-concluded SDSS-IV Mapping Nearby Galaxies at APO (MaNGA) project is the largest IFS galaxy survey to date, with a sample of over 10,000 unique galaxies and a comparable number of resolution-matched observations of a custom stellar spectral template library.  The sub-percent calibration accuracy of the MaNGA survey both enables unique science and helps to advance the state of the art in astronomical data processing.  I will provide an overview of the MaNGA survey and some of its major results, focusing in particular on the dynamical properties of ionized gas from which strong nebular line emission is observed.  I will show that the traditional star-forming sequence traces gas with an extraordinarily well-defined and consistent dynamically cold line of sight velocity distribution (LOSVD) whose properties correlate closely with physical parameters such as mass, star formation rate, and stellar population age.  The spatial information provided by MaNGA demonstrates that early generation spectroscopic surveys based on single-fiber data were systematically biased against young and low metallicity populations at 1-2 galactocentric effective radii, and inclusion of these statistically important populations can appreciably shift the range of strong-line intensity ratios that must be reproduced by stellar photoionization models

Speaker: David Law (Space Telescope Science Institute)


All 2020 Fall Colloquium virtual talks are held on Wednesdays at 3:00 PM.

Please direct questions or comments to contact above.  The 2020-2021 committee members are: Karoline Gilbert (STScI co-chair), Ethan Vishniac (JHU co-chair), Graeme Addison (JHU), Martha Boyer (STScI), Joshua Peek (STScI), Kevin Schlaufman (JHU), and Raymond Simons (STScI).