Skip to main content

About Event

Tue 22 Oct 2024
Fri 25 Oct 2024


Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI)
3700 San Martin Drive
Baltimore, MD 21218

Accurate Flux Calibration in the Era of Space Astronomy and All-Sky Surveys


Advances in space telescope technology and all-sky surveys are driving the need for more precise and accurate flux calibration across the observable spectrum.  The Space Telescope Science Institute is hosting a workshop in October 2024 to evaluate the current state of flux calibration for both ground-based and space observatories.

Workshop Objectives

  • Identify issues affecting cross-mission calibration and their impact on the Hubble, Webb, and Roman Space Telescopes as well as surveys like Gaia and Rubin.
  • Improve the consistency of flux calibration across the electromagnetic spectrum, with an emphasis on the ultraviolet to the mid-infrared.
  • Address the limiting factors for calibration between ground-based and space observatories.
  • Improve and assess the relative strengths and weaknesses of the models used for different classes of standards.

Workshop Significance: STScI last hosted a calibration workshop over a decade ago.  A workshop planned for March 2020 did not take place due to the pandemic. With new telescopes, new technologies, and new scientific requirements, the need has grown for the astronomy community to meet, assess the current state of the art, and develop new collaborations to improve our current flux calibration.

Important Dates

April 1 Abstract Submission Open
May 31 Abstract Submission Deadline
June 14 Registration Open
September 19 Registration Closes

Additional Event Information

  • Annalisa Calamida (co-chair; STScI)
  • Greg Sloan (co-chair; STScI)
  • Sylvia Baggett (STScI)
  • Ralph Bohlin (STScI)
  • Martha Boyer (STScI)
  • Susana Deustua (National Institute of Standards and Technology)
  • Karl Gordon (STScI)
  • Svea Hernandez (STScI)
  • Kathleen Kraemer (Boston College)
  • Sabine Moehler (European Southern Observatory)
  • Charles Proffitt (STScI)
  • George Rieke (Steward Observatory)
  • Abhijit Saha (Noirlab - AURA)
  • Alain Smette (European Southern Observatory)
  • Christopher Stubbs (Harvard University)

Share This Page