Skip to main content

About the NASA Hubble Fellowship Program (NHFP)

The NASA Hubble Fellowship Program fosters excellence and inclusive leadership in astrophysics by supporting a diverse group of exceptionally promising and innovative early-career astrophysicists.

NHFP LogoThe NASA Hubble Fellowship Program (NHFP) supports promising postdoctoral scientists to pursue independent research which contributes to NASA Astrophysics, using theory, observation, experimentation, or instrument development.

The NHFP preserves the legacy of NASA’s previous postdoctoral fellowship programs.

Once selected, fellows are assigned to one of three sub-categories corresponding to NASA’s “big questions”:

How Does the Universe Work? - Einstein Fellows

How Did We Get Here? - Hubble Fellows

Are We Alone? - Sagan Fellows
 

The Space Telescope Science Institute administers the NHFP on behalf of NASA, in collaboration with the NASA Exoplanet Science Institute (NExScI) at the California Institute of Technology and the Chandra X-ray Center at the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory.

NHFP fellowships are tenable at U.S. host institutions of the fellow's choice, subject to a maximum of two new fellows per host institution per year, and no more than five fellows at any single host institution, except for short periods of overlap. The duration of the fellowship is up to three years: an initial one-year appointment, and two annual renewals, contingent on satisfactory performance and availability of NASA funds.

Detailed program policies and application instructions may be found in the official Announcement of Opportunity.

The Host Employment Policy

Host institutions must offer their NHFP Fellows the opportunity to be employees. The NHFP maintains a list of institutions that have informed us whether or not they can host new fellows under this policy.

Application Resources

Science Categories and Techniques

Frequently Asked Questions

Advice for Applicants

Visa and Benefits Information

Important Dates and Deadlines

  • September 5, 2023: Announcement of Opportunity issued
  • September 5, 2023: Application website open
  • November 2, 2023, 7:00 PM EDT (4:00 PM PDT, 23:00 UTC): Applications due
  • November 9, 2023, 7:00 PM EST (4:00 PM PST, 24:00 UTC): Letters of reference due
  • February 2024: Award offers made
  • April 2024: Public announcement of Fellowship offers

Meet the Fellows

Current Classes of NHFP Fellows

 

Prior Classes of NHFP Fellows

 

Fellows through 2017

Prior to the NASA Hubble Fellowship Program, the Einstein, Hubble, and Sagan Fellowships were run separately. The lists of fellows from those programs can be found below.

Pre-footer

Contact the NHFP

nhfp@stsci.edu
NASA Hubble Fellowship Program