The ULLYSES project has been the work of many through its initial conception and subsequent implementation. The full list of team members who have worked on different aspects of the project are listed by team below.

Core Implementation Team

Members of the Core Implementation Team (CIT) at STScI were competitively selected. The CIT includes:

Scientific Advisory Committee Members

Made up of community experts on young low- and high-mass stars, the ULLYSES Science Advisory Committee (SAC) was assembled to provide scientific advice to the CIT about the scientific aspects of the implementation process, including the selection of appropriate targets, observing strategy, distribution of exposure times, and the relative priorities of different analysis tools. The ULLYSES SAC is composed of:

  • Jean-Claude Bouret (Laboratoire d’Astrophysique de Marseille)
  • Catherine Espaillat (Boston University)
  • Chris Evans (UK Astronomy Technology Centre)
  • Kevin France (University of Colorado Boulder)
  • Miriam García (Centro de Astrobiología / CSIC-INTA)
  • Chris Johns-Krull (Rice University)
  • Derck Massa (Space Science Institute)
  • Joan Najita (National Optical Astronomy Observatory)

UV Legacy Working Group Members

The UV Legacy Working Group was established to identify the most effective strategy for achieving high scientific impact and return for an investment of 600 to 1000 orbits of ultraviolet observations related to star formation and the associated stellar physics. The working group, with input from the astronomical community, defined the overarching science case and goals for the program, and outlined a suite of observations necessary to accomplish them. The recommendations of the working group were summarized in a report published in December 2018. The working group was composed of:

  • Sally Oey (Chair, University of Michigan)
  • Nate Bastian (Liverpool John Moores University)
  • Nuria Calvet (University of Michigan)
  • Paul Crowther (University of Sheffield)
  • Andrew Fox (Space Telescope Science Institute)
  • Jay Gallagher (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
  • Ana I. Gomez de Castro (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)
  • Gregory Herczeg (Peking University)
  • Claus Leitherer (Space Telescope Science Institute)
  • Christy Tremonti (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
  • Neill Reid (Space Telescope Science Institute, ex officio)
  • Tom Brown (Space Telescope Science Institue, ex officio)


For inquiries, contact the .